Second DUI Penalties
If you are stopped and arrested for a second DUI offense while your first DUI case is pending, you may prevent any possibility of negotiating away the first DUI charges, and the court system will come down upon you even harder. It’s amazing how many people get their second DUI very quickly after their first DUI. DO NOT DRIVE OVER THE LEGAL LIMIT AGAIN!
If you get a second DUI, and especially if your DUI arrests are “back to back,” state prosecutors will be very hard to negotiate with, and your DUI lawyer may have a difficult time reducing the severity of your second DUI penalties.
When facing a 2nd DUI in Georgia, the consequences of a conviction on that second DUI drives up the likely sentencing penalties. For a second DUI in 5 years, these DUI penalties include total loss of driver’s license up to 3 years. Beating a DUI charge should be your main goal, so searching for only the top Georgia DUI attorneys is where you should invest the most time. Interviewing different GA DUI law firms is the only way to know if a particular attorney has a proven game plan for beating a DUI.
If you have a first DUI conviction and get a second DUI conviction at a later time, it is likely that the sentence for the second offense DUI will be more severe because of the first DUI conviction or the “deferred adjudication.” One avenue of attacking the more severe sentence for the second DUI offense is to either seek to vacate or remove the prior DUI conviction, or if possible to attack the proposed use of the first DUI offense. Such challenges are rare, but can result in saving your driving privileges and possibly reducing jail time by many days – or even months.
Our highly-qualified DUI attorneys have represented thousands of repeat DUI offenders, and we are not afraid to take on these highly sensitive and demanding cases. Call us at 844-832-6384 anytime day or night.
Mandatory DUI Ignition Interlock For Second DUI
After your second DUI conviction, a judge may order you to install an ignition interlock device on your car. This device requires that you blow into a breathalyzer to prove you have not been drinking. If you have, your car won’t start. Typically you will bear the cost of installing an ignition interlock device. Also, if you seek early reinstatement of your driver’s license, a judge may order a mandatory interlock, and you must never fail its built-in breath test, or you may lose your driver’s license for a long time.